Coffee Town Review

For those of you who don’t know (probably everyone except Dom Hudson) Coffee Town is the first movie from Collegehumor, a sketch comedy website best known for Jake and Amir. It’s about a guy who spends his whole day working on his laptop in a coffee shop (played by Glen Howerton) who ends up having to plan a heist to save the place. The movie was released on demand. You can rent or buy it from itunes, playstation network, xbox live, ect. I rented it on Rogers On Demand. I thought this movie was great. It wasn’t necessarily laugh out loud funny 100% of the time, but I thought all the banter between the three main characters was really funny. Even though the plot may sound elaborate, the majority of the movie is just about these guys shooting the shit around a coffee place, and all the shit that happens to them in an average couple of days. It reminded me a lot of Clerks, and that’s a good thing. The characters are really well developed, and their chemistry with each other is great. My only complaint would be the “fake out” near the end. It felt cliche and forced. Other than that though, I would recommend checking it out, and I’m definitely going pay to download the permanent version.I’m a big Collegehumor fan, and I hope this movie isn’t a one-time deal. I think their site’s been going downhill lately, and movies might be the next logical step for them. I would love to see it blossom into a successful production company over the next couple of years. Until then, I’ll be happy to keep watching weekly Jake and Amirs.

Overall Rating: Surprisingly Good/10

Leave a Reply

