Kick Ass 2 Review

Fuck Hollywood. Seriously, why do they have to ruin everything I love? I’m a big fan of Mark Millar and John Romita Jr.’s comicbook series Kick Ass. Now as for the 2010 film adaptation; well, I didn’t hate it. I mean, there’s a lot of things about it that pissed me off. The casting is awful and they totally missed the point of the comicbook, but if I look at it objectively it’s not a bad movie. Kick Ass 2, on the other hand, sucks pretty hard. Most of what I didn’t like about it were the same inconsistencies with the comicbook as the first movie (which I’ll get in to in a minute), but even when I viewed it totally objectively I just think it isn’t as well done as the first movie. Again, the movie does a really bad job at hiding the fact that it’s filmed in Toronto. One scene is shot in Dundas Square, and they literally just changed the sign on the subway from Dundas to Times Square, and there are several shots in which TTC vehicles and even major street signs are clearly visible. But I think the biggest problem is Christopher MIntz-Plazze (A.K.A McLovin). He kinda works in the first movie when he’s just sort of the comic relief, but in the this one he actually has to be an intimidating villain, and he can’t pull it off at all. And as for Jim Carrey, he’s barely in the movie, which I could see being really disappointing considering how prominently he was featured in the ads. I mean, the dude’s on the freaking poster even though he only has like 20 minutes of screentime. Another weird thing is how much time they spent on Hit Girl in school. Like half the movie is just here dealing with the popular girls in school. I have to imagine this was in a poorly guided attempt to bring in a female audience, but I don’t think anyone who went to this movie wanted to see any of that shit. And (spoilers) when Hit Girl and Kick Ass kiss at the end it just made me really uncomfortable. Maybe it’s because in the comics she’s only 10, but somehow I just always thought of their relationship as a sort of brother/sister type thing. Even if she is only 2 years younger than him, watching them kiss is just creepy. Now, my real problem is the innacuracety to the comicbook. The whole idea of Kick Ass is “what if a real person decided to be a superhero?” The result it not the glamour and glory of Spider-man or Batman. The hero doesn’t save the day and get the girl. At the end of the day he just had blood on his hands and a fractured skull. The comic is a very real and serious look at what a real life super hero would go through, and it’s not pretty. By the end of Kick Ass 2 his dad is dead, the girl he loves is in a coma, hundreds of lives are ruined, dozens of people are dead, Hit Girl is in prison, the Mother Fucker is handicapped, and it’s all Kick Ass’s fault. In both the first and second film, the completely Hollywood-ize the ending. He saves the day, he gets the girl. The entire opposite idea of the comic. After all is said and done, you can change a lot of shit from the source material, but the most important thing is to get the right point across. And in that respect, both these movies fail miserably. So if you want to see a mediocre action comedy, I guess check this out, but don’t expect it to be as good as the first one. If you’re a fan of the comic, though, it’ll just piss you off. And if you haven’t read the comic, I really really urge you to check it out. I think it’s one of the best and most original books in years, and it’s really a shame that most people only know it from these stupid movies.

Overall Rating: Insulting/10

Leave a Reply

