The World’s End Review

The World’s End is the third film in the Cornetto trilogy, also known as the blood and ice cream trilogy, with the first two movies being Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz. I actually went to a marathon of all three at the rainbow market square theatre, which is a theatre you should all go to because it’s super cheap and has lots of kick ass special events like that, and maybe if we all supported the smaller local theatres, the big corporate ones would be forced to lower their price, which would be sweet because thirteen bucks to see a movie is fucking bullshit. (Sorry, that got ranty, but that shit does really piss me off). Anyway, back on topic: The World’s End. Is it as good as Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz? If you ask me, no. Now, that doesn’t mean that it is by any stretch of the imagination a bad movie, but I do think it’s the weakest of the trilogy. But Hot Fuzz does get better every time I see it, so maybe I’ll change my mind after repeated viewings. I sort of found it hard to get in to this movie. It’s not really anything I can put my finger on, it just felt off somehow. Maybe it was the overuse of CGI in fight scenes, maybe it was the unsatisfying conclusion to Simon Pegg’s character’s arc, or maybe it was the whole ending, which was really weird. Either way, The World’s End serves as a good ending to a great trilogy, even if it’s maybe a drop in quality from it’s predecessors.

Overall Rating: Human/10

Leave a Reply

