Thor: The Dark World Review

First, an open letter to the people in the theatre with me: SHUT UP! NOT EVERYTHING IS THAT FUCKING FUNNY! YOUR HAIR IS WAY TOO HUGE TO BE SITTING IN FRONT OF PEOPLE! WHO THE FUCK BRINGS A BABY TO A MOVIE THEATRE?! Okay, now that I got that out of my system let’s talk about Thor. I went to see this movie purely out of obligation. It’s a marvel movie, it follows the Avengers, it sets up Avengers 2. I had to see it. But never in a million years would I have imagined that a Thor movie could be this good. Thor: The Dark World is epic. That’s the only word I can think of to describe it. It’s so much better than the first one. The world is so unique. It’s like Star Wars meets Lord of the Rings meets super-heroes. The villain is threatening, the premise is original, and the final battle was even cooler than the end of The Avengers. It was even pretty funny. I mean, there were a few groaners, but all the stuff with Chris O’Dowd was hilarious, and the banter between Loki and Thor was great. Loki’s the best part of the movie, and I think it’s because he’s not in too much of it. When I saw the trailers that was one of my biggest concerns, was that they would overuse Loki. He’s great in small doses, but he was featured so prominently in Thor and The Avengers, it was nice to see him take a back seat on this one. He plays an important role but never steals focus from Thor, and I think that’s really important. It wasn’t perfect. I mean, it’s a super hero movie. Some stuff is kind of dumb. There’s a lot of crappy CGI. But in a year of so many disappointing movies it’s great to see one shatter my expectations so thoroughly. This just made my week.

Overall Rating: The Exact Opposite Of Iron Man 3/10

3 thoughts on “Thor: The Dark World Review

  1. Pingback: Marvel Movies From Best To Worst | Dick's Movie Reviews

  2. Pingback: Guardians of the Galaxy Review | Dick's Movie Reviews

  3. Pingback: Marvel Movies From Best To Worst (Updated) | Dick's Movie Reviews

Leave a Reply

