The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug Review

The Desolation of Smaug has all of the same problems as the previous Hobbit film. It’s drawn out, boring, and is all over the place in terms of tone. But this time there are also several irrelevant sub-plots to distract you from the occasional tidbits of interesting story. The whole final act with Smaug was cool, but just as I would start to get into it, they would cut back to Gandalf fighting Sauron’s followers, or the dude with the fucked up leg and the elf chick who wanted his D. I came to see the dragon, man. I don’t care about all this bullcrap. Another big complaint I had, which I also had with the first one, was the overuse of CGI. Every single shot seemed artificial in some way. It kind of looked like the colours had been enhanced. Everything seemed way too bright. It’s hard to describe, but if you saw either movie you know what I mean. For the most part I think this one was better than the first one, just because it had more going on, and the giant spiders were definitely a highlight. Also Smaug was cool I guess, but I kinda got tired of him quick. I think the one thing I can say to sum up why this movie is bad is that it just has terrible flow. The whole think is just a series of awkward jumps from event to event. The characters go somewhere, someone captures them or tries to kill them, Bilbo gets them out of it, and the get slightly closer to the Misty Mountain. Lather, rinse, and repeat. It’s just boring, and what’s even worse is that the whole thing is crammed full of shitty looking CGI fighting and clumsy misplaced humour. I guess that’s what happens when you stretch out a 300 page book into nine hours of film just for the sake of trying to cash in on a previously successful franchise…

Overall Rating: Does Orlando Bloom look weird in this movie or is it just me?/10

Leave a Reply

