Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season One Review

When I first heard about the idea of a tie-in show to the marvel cinematic universe following the day to day operations of S.H.I.E.L.D., I thought it was a great idea. Sure, everybody loves to watch iron Man and the Hulk run around blowing shit up, but there’s a lot that goes on behind the scenes in that universe, and I thought it would be really interesting to see some of that. Unfortunately, the show takes that great premise and turns it into a bunch of dicks on a plane dealing with shit that got rejected from The X-Files. My main problem with the show is that it focuses on the very ground level of S.H.I.E.L.D.. I can’t help but feel that what the show should have been is Nick Fury and Maria Hill up on the helicarrier dealing with the big threats as they came in. After all, that’s what the S.H.I.E.L.D. comicbook series was. But Sam Jackson was too expensive, so Instead, the show deals with low level agents going out on routine spy missions that rarely and desperately attempt to tie in with the movies and references familiar characters from the comics. And the entire idea of having a protagonist who’s just an everyday girl getting drafted into the organization completely defeats the purpose. The whole point of seeing the behind the scenes of the superhero world is to deconstruct a classic hero story archetype. Then they go and show us that world through the perspective of a classic hero story archetype. It seems like an insignificant thing to complain about, but the whole “oh, aren’t I so relatable” protagonist thing just really kills the show for me (and to make matters worse Sky is really annoying). Even near the end of the season when it’s revealed via Captain America: The Winter Soldier that Hydra has infiltrated S.H.I.E.L.D., and the show FINALLY breaks from the mystery of the week format, is still fails to be anything more than a crappy TV show. And that’s the heart of the problem. I don’t know if it’s the lack of recognizable actors willing to make TV appearances, the low budget, or just the fact that nothing happening has any impact on the characters in the movies, but I have a really hard time believing that this show takes place in the same universe as The Avengers. It just doesn’t feel the same. The ultimate irony is that if the show legitimately did try to exist in it’s own world, it might not be a bad little sci-fi show, but it’s shared continuity with the movies is constantly holding it back. Damn, I didn’t think Joss Whedon could fuck up a TV show this bad, but listening to the dialogue it’s almost like someone is parodying him. I’m a big fan of the Marvel movies and it’s hard for me to simply not watch something set in that universe, even if it is bad, but this show is too long and too shitty and has too little of an impact on the movie universe. My honest recommendation to all you Marvel fans out there: skip this one.

Overall Rating: PPPPPPFFFFFFTTTT/10

Leave a Reply

