Planet Of The Apes (1968) Review

So I was totally gonna watch all the Planet of the Apes movies and marathon review them before I saw Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, but I wanted to actually watch them in good quality on blu ray instead of downloading them, and I had like no money to buy them, so I kept putting off doing it, and then Dawn came out, and I still kept putting it off, so finally I just went and saw it, and reviewed it, and just so it felt like acknowledged the franchise a little, I also reviewed Rise of the Planet of the Apes. But then I actually did get some money, and I did go out and buy the original five movies, and now I’m watching through them again. So it’s a little late and a bit out of order, but I’m gonna marathon review the franchise. Starting with the first one. I’m sure I don’t need to tell you that this movie is great. I mean, there probably wouldn’t be four sequels, a remake, a reboot, a sequel to the reboot, and a TV show if the original movie wasn’t any good. The real question, I think, would be if it’s still great after almost fifty years. The answer is a definite and emphatic yes. Planet of the Apes is by any definition of the phrase a great movie, and one of the best sci-fi films ever made. It’s tense, phycological, and has an eerie tone all throughout. Charlton Heston is great in it, and even when there’s not much happening his character is intriguing to watch. But really the whole movie is just building to the end, which, though not much of an action packed climax, is one of the best endings to a movie ever. Even after seeing it parodied a million times, that shot of the statue of liberty sticking out of the sand still sends shivers down my spine every time.

Overall Rating: IT’S A MAD HOUSE, A MAAAD HOUSE!!!!!/10

Leave a Reply

