End of 2014 Announcement

I love movies based on marvel comics. Even the bad ones are usually entertaining. But I haven’t seen all of them. In fact, there are way too many I haven’t seen, and even more than I haven’t talked about on this site. So here’s what I’m going to do: before the end of 2014, I will have watched, and reviewed, every single theatrically released movie based on a Marvel comicbook. Now let me lay down some ground rules: first off, we’re talking live action. There are some great Marvel animation films out there, but that’s not what we’re talking about here. Secondly, theatrical releases only. There are a lot of made for TV marvel movies, including three Incredible Hulk movies, two Captain America movies, and a really bad Nick Fury movie with David Hasslehoff. We’re not counting those. However, I will be counting the 1990 Captain America movie that was straight to DVD, and the 1994 Fantastic Four movie that never had an official release. I’ve also decided not to include the original 1944 Captain America, for several reasons; it’s a four hour long serial, so not really a theatrical film, the title and costume is basically the only relation to the comic, and at that point in time the company was called Timely comics, so it’s technically not a “Marvel” film. Lastly, I’ve decided to omit the Spider-Man movies; for now. I’ve already talked about the first four, and I’ve gone on extensively about why I don’t want to see The Amazing Spider-Man 2. I’m not saying I’m done talking about Spider-Man movies forever, but for now I feel like I’ve said what I need to, and when I do go back to them, it’ll be it’s own thing. So, the complete list of movies I will watch and review before January 1st, 2015 is:

Howard the Duck

The Punisher (1989)

Captain America (1990)

The Fantastic Four (1994)

Daredevil (2003)

The Punisher (2004)

Elektra

Fantastic Four (2005)

Ghost Rider

Fantastic 4: Rise of the Silver Surfer

Punisher: War Zone

Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance

Eight movies I’ve seen, four I haven’t. Twelve movie reviews in the next two months. And when it’s all over, I’ll update my marvel movies list to include all the new entries, and maybe re-arrange some of the current ones.

Leave a comment