Interstellar Review

I’ve never really though that Christopher Nolan was a great, visionary director. I will say, however, that the man can make an action movie. Inception doesn’t exactly hold up well to scrutiny when it comes to the plot and the way the dream thing works, but it is a very entertaining, engaging, and well made action movie. So are the first two Batman movies he did. My favourite of his is actually Memento, because by all rights that movie should be a hard to follow clusterfuck, but it’s so well made that you’re never lost for a second. Anyway, I think he’s a good director but I don’t feel like anything he’s done has ever really been earth shatteringly great. And that remains true for Interstellar. But it was pretty damn entertaining. The universe they establish feels unique and well though out, and there’s a lot of cool space scenes, but what really holds the whole thing together are the characters. The whole movie sort of hinges on the relationship between Matthew McConaughey and his daughter, and the writing and the performances of both of those characters are great enough to sustain the movie. I also really liked Anne Hathaway despite usually thinking she’s pretty meh. As for the plot it’s pretty basic, until the end when it gets ridiculous. It may not sound like I’m being super complementary of this movie, but I actually really liked it a lot. It was beautifully directed, and probably the best thing I can say about it is that I was consistently entertained for 2 hours and 45 minutes. Say what you want about Christopher Nolan and about this movie, but that’s a pretty hard thing to do. Anyway I would definitely suggest seeing it (preferably on a big screen), but I sort of don’t think I’ll ever want to watch it again, and I doubt it will remembered as well as Inception. I think Christopher Nolan is a very good director, but I’m still waiting for his “masterpiece” so to speak, and Interstellar wasn’t it.

Overall Rating: Fuck  you Michael Caine, I will got gently into that good night if I damn well please

Leave a Reply

